ANTIOCH CITY COUNCIL ANTIOCH DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

Special Meeting 6:00 P.M.

December 18, 2008 Council Chambers

Mayor Davis called the meeting to order at 6:07 P.M., and City Clerk Martin called the roll.

Present: Council Members Kalinowski, Moore, Rocha and Mayor Davis

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Pro Tem Rocha led the Council and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. INTERVIEWS TO FILL CITY COUNCIL VACANCY

The applicants in the following order introduced themselves, listed qualifications and their focus for service if appointed to the City Council:

- Martha Ellen Viera Parsons
- Ronald V. Brown
- Katrinka Trail
- Arne Simonsen
- Vincent Manuel
- Manuel Louis Soliz, Jr.
- Jason Miller
- Stanley R. Travers
- Steve Culcasi
- Allen Payton
- Gary S. Agopian
- Devora Langhere

Mayor Davis announced David Pfeiffer was not in attendance; however the Council would consider his application. Additionally, Diana Bello withdrew her application from consideration.

Mayor Davis declared a recess at 6:50 P.M. The meeting reconvened at 7:07 P.M. with all Councilmembers present.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

The following Antioch residents spoke in support of Martha Parsons's appointment to the vacant City Council seat: Argentina Davila-Luevano, Angel Luevano, Dotty Graham, Ralph Hernandez, Tony Tiscareno, Norma Hernandez, Tique Lee Caul.

Erin Pfeiffer, speaking on behalf of her father David Pfeiffer, voiced her support for his appointment to the vacant City Council seat.

Page 2 of 4

James Kyle, Antioch resident, spoke in support of the person who received the third highest votes at the election being appointed to the vacant City Council seat. He noted if the City Council did not agree, he would urge them to hold a special election.

The following individuals spoke in support of Arne Simonsen being appointed to the vacant City Council seat: Darlene Dawson representing the Sportsman's Yacht Club, Pete Lopez, Charles Hendricks and Terry Ramus. Mayor Davis noted written comment from Shelley Daley also supporting Mr. Simonsen.

The following individuals spoke in support of Kay Trail being appointed to the vacant City Council seat: Roger Henry Jr. and Pastor Henry Kelly.

Becki Wattenbarger spoke in support of Devi Lanphere being appointed to the vacant City Council seat.

Rob Seitelman spoke in support of Jason Miller being appointed to the vacant City Council seat.

Willie Mims, representing the Black Political Association urged the City Council to appoint an applicant who would listen to the entire community.

Mayor Davis announced written comments were received from Janto Widjaja in support of Allen Payton. Written comments were also provided from Bill Worrell urging the City Council to appoint someone who was knowledgeable in water rights and north-east annexation.

Mayor Davis voiced his appreciation to all candidates who applied and advised Round Two of the interview process would consist of those applicants receiving a minimum of three affirmative votes from the City Council. The vote was as follows:

•	Gary Agopian	2/2
•	Ronald Brown	2/2
•	Steve Calcasi	3/1
•	Devi Lanphere	2/2
•	Vincent Manuel	4/0
•	Jason Miller	3/1
•	Martha Parsons	4/0
•	Allen Payton	1/3
•	David Pfeiffer	2/2
•	Arne Simonsen	2/2
•	Manuel Soliz	4/0
•	Kay Trail	2/2
•	Stanley Travers	1/3

Mayor Davis declared a recess at 7:34 P.M. The meeting reconvened at 7:43 P.M. with all Councilmembers present.

Mayor Davis announced the following individuals were finalists and would be participating in the question and answer phase of the interview process; Steve Culcasi, Vincent Manuel, Jason Miller, Martha Parsons and Manny Soliz. Councilmembers asked a question of applicants, which were chosen in random order.

Mayor Davis reiterated Round Three of the interview process would be conducted for those applicants who receive a minimum of three affirmative votes of the City Council. The vote was as follows:

•	Vincent Manuel	3/1
•	Jason Miller	3/1
•	Manuel Soliz	3/1
•	Steve Culcasi	2/2
•	Martha Parsons	4/0

Mayor Davis announced the following individuals were finalists and would be participating in the third round question and answer phase of the interview process; Vincent Manuel, Jason Miller, Martha Parsons and Manny Soliz.

Mayor Davis declared a recess at 8:21 P.M. The meeting reconvened at 8:31 P.M. with all Councilmembers present.

Councilmembers asked a question of applicants, which were chosen in random order.

Round four of the interview process would be conducted for those applicants who receive a minimum of three affirmative votes of the City Council. The vote was as follows:

•	Manuel Soliz	2/2
•	Martha Parsons	2/2
•	Jason Miller	1/3
•	Vincent Manuel	2/2

Given that no applicants received a majority vote, consensus of the City Council agreed all remaining applicants would make closing statements.

Mayor Davis declared a recess at 9:00 P.M. The meeting reconvened at 9:08 P.M. with all Councilmembers present.

Each remaining applicant gave a closing comment.

Noes: Davis

2. FILLING THE CITY COUNCIL VACANCY

RESOLUTION NO. 2008/113

On motion by Councilmember Moore, seconded by Councilmember Rocha, the City Council adopted the resolution appointing Martha Parsons to fill the unexpired Councilmember term of James Davis. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Kalinowski, Moore, Rocha,

The City Council expressed their appreciation to all applicants and congratulated Mrs. Parsons on her appointment.

OATH OF OFFICE

City Clerk Martin administered the Oath of Office to Martha Parsons.

Councilmember Parsons took her seat on the dais.

With no further business, Mayor Davis adjourned the meeting in memory of Edith Rojas and Dorothy Baker at 9:26 P.M. to the next regular Council meeting on January 13, 2009.

		o di Di Titto di
1 10	I ENIE MADTINI	City Clark
L. JO	LENE MARTIN	, City Clerk

Respectfully submitted: